Honolulu is the capital city of the state of Hawaii. It is the largest city in the state, and the only incorporated city found there. All other towns are administered at the county level, due to their small size. The population of Honolulu was over 371,000 at the 2000 census, but the entire county of Honolulu, which incorporates the entire island of Oahu, was close to 910,000. The word Honolulu means “place of shelter” or “sheltered bay” in the Hawaiian language, and is an excellent description of the city.